Saturday, June 28, 2014

**FREE BOOK ALERT** Complete phonics series of 80 iBooks for FREE!

Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 8.26.35 PM Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 8.27.34 PM Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 8.27.02 PMScreen Shot 2014-06-28 at 8.26.48 PM Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 8.29.26 PM

Today we've found a great early reader phonics series for FREE on iBooks! The last time these books went free, the sale didn't last long enough for us to share the deal. We don't know how long they will last, so make sure you download as soon as you see this post, in order to take advantage of an astounding 80 (EIGHTY!) books for free.

These books are available for iPad, iPhone, and even on an Apple computer!

To download these books for iOS, first download the free iBooks app (FREE, iPad/iPhone):
App store button

Find books 1-52 from author SWRL here:
Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 7.55.21 PM

And books 53-80 from authors Francis Morgan & Josephine Lai here:
Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 7.55.21 PM

** Only the book's developer can control when a book is free/discounted or not. The prices of iBooks are verified to be correct at the time of this post. We make no guarantees otherwise. This is a limited time only offer.**

Book 1: I See Sam
Each of these early reader books can be read on an iPad, iPhone, or even on a Mac, a great option for schools! Though these books are not interactive apps, they still have many options. They can be utilized as books presented electronically, for kids to read aloud independently.

But using the read-aloud option on each book results in a lesson, too, not simply reading the text. It reminds me of the books on tape series from Scholastic with which my son learned to read. There is also music and sound effects along with the story, like any typical audiobook. The illustrations are not animated, but the words are highlighted as they are read.

Book 61: Max the Fox
The books are designed to read in order, since they build on each other with added sounds and words in each book. However, they can be used individually for other reasons, such as for speech sound practice, or to develop fluency and confidence in readers who have advanced beyond the early levels.

The last time these books were on sale, I only got through downloading the first 50 books before the sale ended. This sale could end at any time, so be sure to download as soon as you can!

Book 37: Mit is Wet
From iTunes:
The 80 books in the series use systematic phonics to ensure that your beginning readers will get a great start in reading proficiency.

The books begin at a very simple level and gradually introduce new sounds and words until students have mastered all 44 phonemes (sounds) in the English language. 

The books should be read in order, because the sounds and words in each book build upon those learned in previous books. It is important that students master each book before moving on to the next.

Each new word throughout the program is repeated at least 5 times in the book in which it first appears and 5 more times in the next 10 books.

Heather H. wishes her Dad a happy birthday today!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.